Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

My New Favourite Chocolate October 10, 2008

Filed under: adult picky eating — Claire @ 9:15 pm
Tags:

As regular readers might know, chocolate is a substance close to my heart.  I do not think I have lived a day since toddlerhood without eating chocolate in its solid form.  Certainly not in the last 20 years or so, anyway.  At 18 I was a ten-tubes-of-Smarties-a-day girl, having graduated from a ten-Creme-Eggs-a-day habit.

So I’d like to take this opportunity to give a great big shout-out to my new favourite chocolate.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the Nestles Dairy Crunch:

I’m not sure why this has superseded my previous tip-of-the-top, cream-of-the-crop, chocolate of choice, the Milka Alpenmilch as my current chocolate du jour. 

It could be that Shakespeare was right when he wrote Sonnet 102.  It could be because I’ve overdone the Milka thing over the last few months.  When it’s got so you always have at least 3 giant bars of the stuff in your fridge, you start to get blase about it, you start to fancy something a little different.  Different chocolate, different texture. 

Now, I’m not altogether a fan of Nestle chocolate (apart from the Milky Bar of course, which doesn’t really count).  If Smarties weren’t glazed in sugar, I wouldn’t bother with ’em.  But the Dairy Crunch is the perfect texture for someone with a low texture-repetition threshhold like me, who’s had it up to the back teeth with manufactured high veg-fat, low cocoa-butter smooth and silkiness (don’t get me started on the Galaxy refurb). 

I’m also not a large fan of chocolate With Things In It.  Cadbury’s Fruit & Nut used to make want to cry as a child, being strictly a Dairy Milk lover.  But the Dairy Crunch just has rice-crispies in it, which are very benign, and which go with the chocolate very well, to my mind.

So that’s nailed my colours to the mast good and proper.  How about you?

 

6 Responses to “My New Favourite Chocolate”

  1. WendyD Says:

    Mmmm, I love Crunch. It’s nice and crispy, and not too sweet like solid chocolate. Given the choice between Crunch and Crunchie though, in most cases I’d go for Crunchie.

    It’s a single bar of chocolate covered nougat/toffee thing. I’m not sure exactly what it is, but it’s this lovely, solidified sponge of sugary goodness. It’s quite hard, but once it melts a bit in your mouth, gives you something to chew on, like cotton candy. It’s a bit too sweet for me, but simply heavenly.

    Give it a try if you haven’t already ❤

  2. Dan Says:

    I’ve not seen Nestle Crunch before. I also don’t like chocolate with things in it, I’ve tried Mint Chocolate and the crunch just was too strange although I like the flavour. I’ll keep a lookout for Crunch and give it a try.

  3. Jack Says:

    I like Crunch, but I think I probably enjoyed it better in my youth.

    Rather than milk chocolate I always have enjoyed dark or semi-sweet chocolate or even a high quality white chocolate.
    (I hate cheap white chocolate as it tastes like wax)

    Now they say that dark chocolate is good for the brain function or something. Well thats a switch; I finally eat something that is good for me…..

  4. Louisa Says:

    hey..i am new and a fussy eater!!..and love this website as it does feel like you are the only person who eats like this…I’m slowly getting better but it’s just so frustrating…anyway i love chocolate but i will pretty much eat any type, except dark, i swear i couldn’t live without it…

  5. Iris Says:

    I’m from Holland but I live in the US now and I am shocked how TERRIBLE the chocolate in the US is! I bought Crunch, I took one bite and I gaged! (threw out the rest of the bag) Chocolate flavored wax! Hershey: just as bad!
    All for the profit I guess, they take out the chocolate and put more sugar in, and apparently the Americans don’t notice…

    Luckily for me they do have Milka here and Toblerone (have to put in some extra effort find it, but it’s worth it)


Leave a comment