Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Not Defunct April 8, 2009

Filed under: General — Claire @ 12:49 am

Just to clarify – this blog is not defunct, though a person could be forgiven for thinking that it was.

Unfortunately I just don’t have enough time at the moment to keep up with posting as regularly as I’d like – or, conveniently enough, to keep up with my fruit-trying project, either.  So I’d just like to apologise for the infrequency of posts recently. 

And I’d like to say a hello and a welcome to those of you who have come across this site for the first time recently, and to those of you who are visiting from academia, and especially a thank you to those of you who have taken the time to comment.  No comment is too short, and no life story is too long.

I hope to bring you some decent posts in the near future – in the meantime, I really suggest you subscribe to post and comments feeds, so you know when something’s new.

 

10 Responses to “Not Defunct”

  1. Alan Walker Says:

    It is true that we feel very alone, and until quite recently I too have hidden and avoided social functions. And I am 58 and a professional businessman.

    But despite reading comments from people and being able to identify with them (admittedly a big step forward), I cannot see anything that may even hint at a solution.

    Is there anyone other than the lucky ones who agreed to appear on Freaky Eaters who now eats “normally”

  2. Alan Walker Says:

    And I would love to hear from anyone at all who could guide me in that direction.

  3. Ben Says:

    Just ran across your blog. I have come to believe that I am a “supertaster.” Perhaps some of you might be interested in this:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supertaster

    Somehow I find it a little more comforting to think there is something weird about my tongue than something weird about my brain.

  4. Darrell Says:

    Hi Claire, I just stumbled upon your blog, and though I’m not a “picky eater” myself (well, vegetarianism aside) I’ve enjoyed reading very much. I think anyone who struggles with anxiety can identify with what you’ve been doing, and would find your confrontation of your challenges as inspiring as I do. Please don’t give up! I’m rooting for you!

  5. Kate Says:

    Hi Everyone

    I’m fascinated to read all about this. I’m writing an article for a monthly magazine about Selective Eating Disorder and wondered if anyone would care to participate? Don’t worry, it’s a serious health report, not sensationalist rubbish. If you’d like to know more please contact me on kate_corr@tiscali.co.uk
    Thanks for taking the time to read this!

    • Brian T. Says:

      Hi Claire,

      Good to see your blog is still around… keep up the fight… I guess it’s not really a fight.
      You give us PEA’s a place to connect and share and we all need that sometime.

      take care and thanks for all your effort.

      Brian T.
      Toronto, Canada

  6. Rachel Murphy Says:

    Hello Everyone,

    I am currently studying Journalism at the University of Portsmouth and at the moment, I am doing research into writing an article on selective eating disorders. It’s something that I am a mild sufferer of and I would love to have the opportunity to talk to anybody else regarding it. The article will be unpublished and is only being used as part of my coursework portfolio. I would be very grateful for any help that can be given.

    Thanks,

    Rachel Murphy.

    rachel.murphy@myport.ac.uk

  7. Ellen Says:

    I’m 17 and what you’ve described in your blog is exactly what I’m like. My parents have told me I haven’t really eaten fruit since I was 18 months old. I have tried it from time to time but I cannot bring myself to put it in my mouth in it’s natural form. I will drink fruit smoothies/juice/tomato sauce on pizza or pasta and enjoy them, but trying to eat a strawberry can send me into something resembling a panic attack!
    Apparently I completely stopped eating at about 18 months old and I remember eating really nothing but baked beans for quite a long time. My parents managed to get me to eat most things over the years (we’re vegetarian so getting me to eat vegetables was really quite important!) and I think can change, but I still cannot eat fruit. Any ideas?

  8. Lucy Cooer Says:

    Hi there, what you have described is exactly what I am going through and exactly how I feel. I have been to the doctors many times with different problems which I know for a fact can be put down to my diet. I have told them that I am a picky eater but they just want to cure the problem I went in for and not look at the underlining problem of what caused it. I know I need to change the way I eat or I ain’t gonna see my kids grow up but there doesn’t seem to be anyone out there to help. If you could advise me on how to get help I will be very grateful. Keep up the good work, the more people who know about this condition the more help there will be for people like us. Xx

  9. Imogen Says:

    Hi! I was just wondering if this blog is still going or if there are any Facebook groups or any other kind of places other fellow picky eaters hang out? I’ve started writing a blog about how to travel with the issues I face and I’d love to find a community of people to share with!


Leave a Reply

