Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Hope & Anticipation July 5, 2011

Filed under: General,My Progress,Treatments — Claire @ 12:07 pm

So, I got a referral to an Adult Clinical Psychologist.  Told her the eating problem.  She took it seriously, she believed me, she asked sensible questions, and she reckons she can do something that might help.  Said a colleague of hers had helped someone with the same problem.

Even though I haven’t started the treatment yet, and I don’t even know what it involves, already it seems like a miracle.  After so many years of being brushed aside and ignored with this by professionals who should have helped, to finally get to this point feels like more than I ever dared to hope for. 

I’ll of course be blogging this as I go along – more anon.

 

5 Responses to “Hope & Anticipation”

  1. Z Says:

    I think that it will be enormously helpful to a great many people if you blog what happens, Claire. Good luck.

  2. Claire Says:

    Thank you, Z. It may be something or nothing, or a flash in the pan, but you never do know. I suspect it’ll be CBT-based, but I’m guessing. In any case, I await with interest to see what transpires.

  3. rachel Says:

    Hi Claire. I’ve just found your blog and find it very interesting. Have you heard of the Duke Study that’s being conducted at the moment to look into the adult picky eater phenomenon (also called ‘selective eating’ in some circles?) Results are due out next year. I am actually writing a piece about this topic (I’m based in Australia), and I was wondering if any of your readers who are also in the same boat as you are from Australia? I’m really keen to find a case study to talk to as part of my article. If you can help, please drop me a line! Also, if I can, I’d love to add your blog URL in my piece for people to come to if they’re picky eaters and feeling isolated.
    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    Cheers and thanks so much. Rachel

  4. ZG Says:

    Hello, fellow PEA from the US (on the extreme end of the scale) and I’m interested in learning about your clinical experience. I hope to see you update your blog soon. If not perhaps you can join me and others at the Picky Eating Adults website (I won’t spam your comment with links =) ). We have fruitful discussion on both clinical and nonclinical aspects of our plight (most of it is on an e-mail list associated with the site).

  5. Robin Says:

    Love to hear how this is going. Crossing my fingers for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

