Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Operation Fruitalicious Part II: Orange November 4, 2008

Filed under: adult picky eating,Personal Stories,Reducing Pickiness — Claire @ 2:55 am

They say that oranges are not the only fruit, and I’ve got to say thank heavens for that. I did not enjoy my orange encounter. In fact, after this, that apple I tried seems positively delicious. I drew a line under the orange about an hour ago. Thinking about it still makes me nauseous. Let me tell you about it.

Remember my orange? Here she is:

orange1

So far, so innocuous. Now, I wasn’t sure how to approach the eating of this thing.  I seem to remember at netball matches they used to hand out sort of slices to you at half-time.  I always declined.  And I also seem to remember people at school peeling the things and eating the segments.  I decided to go for the latter.  I’m perfectly au fait with orange juice (no bits), so sucking the juice out and throwing the rest away seemed like it would be a cop-out.  Normal people can chomp their way through one of these babies, so that’s what I want to aim for. 

It took me about 20 minutes to peel the thing.  This is not an easy job, in fact it’s fairly painstaking, because I didn’t want to accidentally hurt any of the segments.  Plus the stuff inside the actual orange-peel part, that is a devil to get off.  On top of this, it is also vaguely a messy job.  Still, the smell is pleasant, and you feel quite authentic, like a real fruit-eater, while doing this part.  I got there in the end:

orange2

The next job was also quite tricky. Whatever happened to “tap and unwrap”? It’s not like a chocolate orange at all! I really really didn’t want to break or burst any of the segments, but every time I tried to separate them, it threatened to happen. What I learned is that you just have to be bold. Eventually, I managed it.

orange3

Next, I chose one segment at random, peeled him off, and cut myself a little piece.

orange4

Because the segments are kind of sealed, and because orange juice is not a stranger to me, there was not much problem with putting this in my mouth. I also used what I learned from the apple, keeping it just at the front of my mouth. I still wanted to immediately spit it out, however. The thing that makes me gag on this seems to be different from when it happens with apple. It wasn’t the flavour, or the surface texture, more the structural tension of the thing.

In the trying of these things, when one stage is easy and fine, I feel I’ve got to take it to the next step. A piece of orange which is sealed on all sides bar one was relatively easy to just have in my mouth. So then I tried moving it around and exploring the feel of it. Not pleasant, and had to fight the gag reflex, but bearable. I did this with a few pieces, starting again each time the reflex overpowered me.

And then I went beyond the pale. The next piece, I tried biting into it while it was in my mouth. Ew, that was nasty. Like an upsetting organic explosion. It feels like you’re hurting someone. I had to fight to not throw up. I was so right about the structural tension. The resistance, and then the bursting of each membrane is just upsetting, and so detailed as you do it. I tried it a few times, to the eye-watering point of near-vomiting. The orange-juiciness aspect of doing this is actually perfectly pleasant, and I can suck the juice out. But then what you’re left with is like a fruit corpse, and an ugly mutilated one at that. That is the part that I cannot stomach. I was so near to throwing up, I knew I was on a knife-edge there, so I didn’t even bother trying to chew or swallow it.

Maybe next time.  I feel sick.

orange5

 

UPDATE:  I wasn’t very happy about being defeated by an orange.  So I just went back to it with a drink of water.  Determination is a wonderful thing.  I decided if I pretend it’s an aspirin, and don’t chew it, but just swig it back with some water, I’d be able to swallow at least a tiny bit.  I know it’s cheating, and I had to concentrate very hard, and it took me 3 attempts, but I’m pleased to report that I managed it in the end.  I think it’s important in terms of preparing for the next time, to get as much orange-experience under my belt as I possibly can.  Perhaps I’m optimistic, but I envisage it getting easier with experience.

 

7 Responses to “Operation Fruitalicious Part II: Orange”

  1. Mat Says:

    well done 🙂 I recommend trying satsumas or something similar as they’re easy to peel and the segments are smaller. If you can get over the orange juice explosion part then I think then I think you can learn to like it. But you should eat the whole thing at once so you don’t get the “fruit corpse” left over.

    I’m enjoying your food reviews from a picky eater perspective – I hope you continue them 🙂

  2. Z Says:

    ‘Normal’ – well I think you are. Because, as a cheery orange eater, when you describe it like that I recognise the description, it’s just that I don’t mind it. I sort of understand your decision to go at it head to head, but it would be much more accessible, if your eventual wish is to enjoy eating an orange, if you squeezed the juice and tried drinking it unstrained – if what you usually drink is packaged orange juice, the real thing tastes better but is more bitty. Otherwise, when I was a child I used to cut a cross in the top, insert a sugar lump and suck. You just might enjoy that. I really believe the key is finding something to like, rather than to endure – though that’s a huge achievement and I do commend you for it.

  3. Jean Says:

    Just thought I would add some helpful hints:

    Get an orange peeler from Sunkist or Tupperware. Can probably get in any kitchen store. It is a pen-sized wandish thing. On one end, there is a pointed scoring device so you can make simple scores in the peel. On the other end is a thinner plastic section that is curved. It goes under the peel to loosen the peel from the orange.

    You can peel an orange in literally under 5 minutes this way.

    Also, make sure you get oranges in the peak of season. Those are the best oranges. I was orange resistant for a long time and then started craving them. I prefer Sunkist naval oranges in season – juicy, not mealy.

    Good luck.

  4. If you have proudly served the country and are now out of the military you may be looking for some quality job hunting tips for veterans. Finding a good paying and rewarding job in the private sector is not as difficult as you might think, you just have to know how to go about it.

  5. Robin Says:

    My son began oranges by sucking the juice out. He had trouble with the pith. I think we peeled the sections at first so that it was just the little juice sacks from the sections. We began small. He loves oranges now. We went through other orange things too. Orange flavored things and foods orange in color like goldfish crackers, jello, orange candies, orange sherbet. Now he loves oranges and tangerines and has zero issues with them. Each winter as they came into season he would start in on them loving them until the yearly gag and vomit on the pith would happen. Then he would refuse to eat them again until the following year. His feeding therapist taught him how to handle the orange pith in his mouth and now he has zero issues. Keep at it. They are delicious and worth the effort it takes to adapt.

  6. Many adult ADHD patients suffer from forgetfulness and since they administer the medications themselves, they often forget that they have already ingested their dose for the day thereby ingesting another set which
    can cause overdosing. Antibiotics, for instance, do improve acne
    conditions, but they also interfere with the balance of healthy intestinal flora, making the problem cyclic.
    Enter the specific URL address of the site you would like
    to permit or block, and click ”Add”.

  7. It is easier to let Mom or Dad pay a utility
    bill so that your child can buy some item that is wanted but not quite affordable.

    Think of something unique as the adult gifts for the birthday presents for girls.
    [2] Safe – Kids, Larry Magid – Child Safety on the Information Highway.


Leave a Reply

