Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

A Strange And Interesting Prospect October 7, 2008

Filed under: General — Claire @ 2:18 am

In the course of trying to set up a real-life gathering of picky eaters – which incidentally, I think is going ahead next month sometime – I ran a mental simulation of what it might be like.  And I realised it would be really weird – in a good way, I mean. 

Because I have never in all my life met another person who is like me in this regard.  I’ve never met someone who knows what it’s like to not count certain things as food.  I’ve never met another person who’s lived their whole life with all that that entails.  I’ve never met a person who I wouldn’t have to explain this to.  I’ve never met a person who knows what it’s like, who actually understands.  Ever.  I’ve been so alone with this my whole life, I kind of can’t imagine what it would be like to suddenly not be the only one in the room like this. Do you know what I mean?

 

4 Responses to “A Strange And Interesting Prospect”

  1. Z Says:

    A few weeks after my mother died, I prepared a meal that was perfect in a very particular way – all seasonal food, very much a treat in its simplicity – and it suddenly dawned on me that there was no one left who could look at that food and feel the pleasure of it in exactly the same way I did, as my mother would have done. So, yes I think I know what you mean, although from a completely reversed sort of angle.

  2. Jack Says:

    Claire,
    Oh yes, I know what you mean….

    Well said; a very interesting prospect.

    Anyway; I may never meet someone also, but its nice to chat with them via this site.

  3. A-M Says:

    I know what you mean, but then I was really lucky! My fiancé is even pickier than me! I was amazed. It was great, we never had the embarrassing restaurant date, where I was so worried about if I could eat anything that I totally made him feel weird. We both realised pretty early on we were the same (it’s hard to hide these things), found a ‘compromise meal’ that we could kinda share, and if we go to a restaurant, we go to one that we know serves that. Our compromise meal at the moment is sunday roast. He has carrots, sprouts and cabbage, gravy and no meat. I have meat, carrots, sweetcorn and broccoli, and no gravy! At least the waiter always remembers us now.

  4. Claire Says:

    Not completely reversed, z. I think there will be a pleasure in being able to look at, say, pizza, with someone who shares the appreciation of it from a context of SED.

    Jack, if ever you’re in London….? And you never know I might make it over to the US of A again some day. I’ll be sure and look you up.

    A-M, how great is that?


Leave a Reply

