Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Pomodoro April 3, 2008

Filed under: General — Claire @ 11:00 pm

A dreadful thing happened to me today.  Let me tell it to you.

I was fancying some fresh tomatoey pasta, so I popped out to a very nice local restaurant that I know, with a penne pomodoro in mind. Why did I not just buy some tomatoes from the market and skin and blend and cook them?  Because a) I couldn’t be bothered, and b) it’s not as nice as when you get it in a restaurant.

So.  The waiter comes to take my order, and I notice there isn’t a pomodoro on the menu.  So I ask him, is it possible to have just a pasta pomodoro.  He says yes.  Something about cherry tomatoes.  Fair enough, I thought.  I don’t personally care what tomatoes it is, as long as it’s a pomodoro pasta sauce.

So.  Some little while later, he returns to the table and puts down a plate of pasta.  I looked at it in horror.  My little heart didn’t know what to do.  Because there wasn’t any sauce on it to speak of, only loads of cherry tomatoes all over the shop.  As Colin would say, it might as well have been pasta a la dog shit as far as I’m concerned.

I tried to think what to do.  I tried to wonder if I could force myself.  But if I’m paying for food, I want to at least enjoy it, and that would have been totally out of the question.  My next thought was to pay him to take it away, and leave, asap.  I actually felt quite upset.  I wanted to cry.

But d’you know what I did?  I don’t know where my courage came from, but I said to him, “um, the thing is, what I was wanting was a pomodoro, a sauce, you know?”  Well, he wasn’t especially happy, let me tell you.  But he took it away, and to my great relief and eternal gratitude, came back with a proper penne pomodoro.  ‘Twas delish. 

 

4 Responses to “Pomodoro”

  1. Jack Says:

    Claire,
    Good for you. There is nothing wrong with send back a dish that is not the way you expected, particularly when you requested it a particular way. All the waiter or cook had to is say no, but they all too often want to do what is easiest for them and not the customer.
    Sometimes when I’m with a group its embarassing as it calls attention to my “pickyness” but when you take the time to request a meal a certain way and they agree, you should get it that way. I share your pain getting a plate of pasta loaded with cherry tomatoes, that would freak me out also.

    However, its a totally different story if I misread the menu or forgot to ask for something removed (ie. hold the secret sauce) then its my fault and time to suck it up and invoke emergency table measures…..
    Those are ground rules that I live and starve by….
    I’m glad you enjoyed your dinner and and believe it or not I had to Google pomodoro sauce as I have never noticed it on a menu and being the creature that I’am, always scan for the meatless maranara…..

    Jack

  2. Rosemarie Says:

    Well done you for sending it back and for risking the disapproval of the waiter. And glad that twas delish

  3. Claire Says:

    Hi Jack
    I quite agree with your philosophy there. The thing is, he had mentioned the cherry tomatoes, and I’d ok’ed them, so I wasn’t sure if I was in the former situation or the latter.
    In any case, the point was, there was no way I could eat what was in front of me, and it would have rankled to have to pay for it. Who’s to say whether his misunderstanding trumps mine?
    A good pomodoro is my best way of getting tomatoes down me. I have been known to actually crave it.

    Rosemarie! How nice to see you here again. The waiter’s disapproval was quite upsetting, but less upsetting than the prospect of having to pay for a food I couldn’t eat.
    I suppose he made a fair assumption that most people will either prefer, or want to be seen to prefer the exotic, but in this case, that was a mistake.

  4. Vicki Says:

    Hi,

    The problem may have been in the request. ‘Pomodoro’ is the italian word for tomato (whole or otherwise). Did you order this in the UK? If so it’s probably best to just say you want a tomato sauce. Pomodoro isn’t a sauce, it’s a tomato (which is sometimes made into a sauce to put on pasta).


Leave a Reply

