Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

What Would Constitute a “Cure”? August 14, 2007

Filed under: Reducing Pickiness,Treatments — Claire @ 12:35 am

Following on from the previous post, I also think it’s worth considering what would constitute a “cure”. 

I can live with not wanting to eat haggis, squid, black pudding or jellied eels, quite frankly.  Plenty of “normal” people don’t really fancy offal,  brussels sprouts or sushi.  I could live with that. 

What I’d view as a cure would be to get to a place where I can try things with abandon, without the gagging thing.  I don’t have to love everything, but loving a few more things would be great.  I’d like to be at a point where the notion of Five A Day didn’t make me feel excluded from the human race.  At present, one a day constitutes a triumphant rarity for me.

It’s been mentioned elsewhere that a very common feeling amongst picky eaters is that most of our excluded foods simply don’t seem like food to us.  I’d like to get to a point where I can feel in my heart (and my mouth) that apples are food, regardless of whether they’re a food that I like or not.

That’s what I’d like, how about you?

 

5 Responses to “What Would Constitute a “Cure”?”

  1. Jack Says:

    Claire,
    Ditto – thats what I would like exactly.

    But just to add a few more “wants”:
    – I want to not be afraid of things. My god, I’m a grown man. I can gut a fish, handle toxic chemicals but things like lima beans or lettuce on my plate make me freak? It just dosn’t make sense.
    – I want to no longer feel like I’m not commiting a slow suicide by depriving my body of what I know it needs. I have enough guilt as it is.
    – I want to enjoy a fine meal with my wife just like a normal couple.

    If I achived yours and mine I’d be cured.

    Thanks,

  2. Claire Says:

    Hi Jack

    I’d agree with your second and third points for sure.

    The first one though, I wonder how integral the fear thing is for you? Just speaking for myself, the foods themselves don’t scare me, just the prospect of being expected to eat them, of not being able to, of being judged/criticised/embarrassed etc. Is that how it is for you, or are you actually afraid of the foods themselves?

  3. Jack Says:

    Claire,
    Oh Yes I’m afraid.
    Afraid of the what I might taste.
    Afraid of the crunch, the juice, the texture.
    Afraid of being watched while strugle or gag.
    Afraid that an alien food my touch my friendly food on the plate and trasmit even the slightest bit of aroma or flavor.
    Afraid so I don’t even like to touch these things as I remove them off my plate.
    Of course, I’ve had to modify my plate ejection techniques as I’m afraid some one will sense or see that I’m afraid of these foods (I do have my manhood status to protect)….

    Thanks,

  4. Claire Says:

    Now this is very interesting. Because I so agree with all of that, except for the last 2.

    But I wouldn’t say I’m afraid of the food itself. I can sit in front of it without experiencing any fear at all. It’s kind of because I know that the taste, the crunch, the gagging isn’t going to happen, because I already know I’m not going to put that stuff in my mouth. Sort of like with your piglet example. It’s just not going to happen. No way, no how.

    Of course then I might get anxiety about how I’m going to handle not eating the stuff, but I’d say that’s another story again.

  5. caroline tulloch Says:

    My neice is 16 and cannot put anything lumpy in her mouth..everything must be mashed completely down.She cannot eat any veg however no matter how puried…..
    can anyone help? She is a healthy girl otherwise but just today said that she really thinks she has a phobia…..we really need info…..please email me carolinetulloch@yahoo.co.uk if anyone has information on this
    Thanks very much


Leave a Reply

