Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Picky Eating is Not Orthorexia February 19, 2007

Filed under: adult picky eating — Claire @ 7:16 pm

Today I discovered the term “orthorexia nervosa“, coined by a Dr Steven Bratman in 1997, which apparently refers to an obsession with healthy eating, and accordingly a restricted diet.  In fact, I was told, by a certain person, that there is a medical term for picky eating, and that orthorexia is it.

Now, I don’t know about you, but we Picky Eaters seem to tend towards the unhealthy in terms of what foods we can eat; it seems to be the “healthy” foods that we cannot stomach (fruits & vegetables seeming to be a common denominator). 

In addition, people with orthorexia choose not to eat certain things, because of their obsession with “pure” or “healthy” foods.  Picky eaters do not choose not to eat stuff.  We simply can’t do it.

Also, I don’t know about you, but I do not believe I have any kind of obsession with food, whether it be about calorific or nutritional content.  I only think about food when I’m shopping for it, or when I’m hungry. 

So I feel a bit annoyed to be called orthorexic, and I do wish journalists would listen properly to what people tell them.  At this rate, I shall have to start writing my own articles for newspapers and magazines, and I really don’t have the time for that, quite frankly.

 

One Response to “Picky Eating is Not Orthorexia”

  1. Irving Lose Says:

    Thank you for the information provided.I love food and restaurants so this gives me great ideas


Leave a Reply

