Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

How Do We Feel About Christmas? December 4, 2006

Filed under: General — Claire @ 6:32 pm

Personally, I love Christmas, but judging by some of the stories I’ve heard from Picky Eating Adults, not all of us do.  Feel free to share your feelings about the forthcoming festivities here.

 I consider myself rather lucky that Santa doesn’t bother any more with an apple or satsuma in the bottom of my Christmas stocking – no, I shall receive the customary Terry’s Chocolate Orange.  I have to confess I have largely gone off these also, but still it is preferable to the fruit alternative.  And I am looking forward to the Christmas dinner, which for me will be turkey, roast potatoes and gravy.  And maybe some sausagemeat too.  And, to go with it, I shall be having one little roast parsnip, which I can’t decide if it’s delicious or dreadful, but I can manage to eat one, and I really really like the idea of that. 

I want to say that I really don’t mind missing out on the peas, the carrots, the stuffing, the bread sauce, the Christmas pudding, or the trifle, or the Christmas cake.  Or the nuts, the satsumas, the malt loaf, the mince pies and so on.  In the sense that it won’t diminish the family festivities for me, that much is true.  But it’s not the same, is it?

 And on Christmas Eve, when we visit friends of the family, I shall be on food-fiasco-alert.  Even though we will be visiting people who’ve known me (and my eating) since I was a child, the thought of being confronted as an adult by something inedible to me in a social situation is still somewhat anxiety-provoking.  I do feel empowered and supported this year though, by the knowledge that my “eating thing” is an actual phenomenon shared by others, and not just a freaky, cowardly, self-indulgent, childish flaw – if I get into any hot food-related water over Christmas, I shall have a proper and dignified talking point with which to explain it to my hosts.

And now I shall get back to looking at the Picky Eating data from the questionnaire.  Over to you guys.

 

2 Responses to “How Do We Feel About Christmas?”

  1. GGK Says:

    As a hostess I try to provide a variety of foods – when adults are my guests, I have ceased to worry whether they are eating or not. If they are, all well and good – if they are not, it could be for a variety of reasons – illness – already eaten – or plainly don’t like any of the choices.

    Even in my own family there are times when I have been to a house where there really may only be one thing I like but I have not worried that they may notice I haven’t eaten.

    Adult picky eaters should try to focus on the fact that if they are generally healthy, it is something not to worry about anymore. They are suffering from an over anxiety to please. It stems from certain codes which believe that to feed is to nurture (mentally) so if they do not consume they are refusing the mental nurturing. Adult picky eaters therefore feel they are disrespecting (apologies to Catherine Tate’s Lauren)their hosts. I personally do not think you have that much of a responsibility to your hosts at peril to yourself – do your best but don’t angst.

  2. Claire Says:

    Hello GGK, thanks for posting.

    Not all picky eaters have such understanding families as I do. For some, food-based family gatherings are very difficult. Personally, I don’t feel any anxiety within my own family, (except the risk of having to go hungry, if it is outside my nuclear family) but a shared family meal (as opposed, say, to a restaurant or afternoon tea) does highlight my eating limitations for me, and the feeling that I am, as people are often at pains to point out to me, “missing out”. It feels rather like, in the book “Bread & Jam for Frances”, when Frances starts crying because everyone else is eating spaghetti and meatballs, and she has only got bread and jam.

    Outside the family, my fear is not so much of “disrespecting” the host, but perhaps being seen to be doing so, or feeling inadequate, or appearing rude, self-indulgent, spoilt, cowardly or childish, and on top of that, maybe hurting their feelings.

    Wise words though, thank you.


Leave a Reply

