Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Mixing & Touching November 12, 2006

Filed under: General,Personal Stories — Claire @ 7:47 pm

It seems to be fairly common among picky eating adults to not like mixing different foods.  Many of us prefer to keep our foods separate, and often don’t like different foods to touch or have touched eachother.

I can’t say I especially share this concern – in fact in some ways, I think I have the opposite concern: I sometimes need things to be mixed.  With foods which I do like, I often find it hard to eat more than a few mouthfuls of the same thing in succession if it is pure.  As a child, mashed potato used to be quite difficult; I always liked mashed potato, but if I had to eat more than a few mouthfuls in a row, it would make me gag.  I would have to make sure that I had enough of whatever else was on the plate to go round, and either alternate between the two things, or mix them in a mouthful.  It only needs to be a little bit of something else, but that something else needs to be there.  Ice-cream is another example – I can’t understand how other people can sit and eat a whole bowlful, and claim it is delicious.  I want to say “my mouth gets tired of it”, but “tired” isn’t really the right word for it.  “Upset” would be closer to the mark.

I think as a child, I didn’t like it if an edible food was contaminated by having touched something inedible.  But I pretty much got over that as a result of the necessities of social eating.  And, I would say, it’s helped introduce me nice and gradually to things I now love (in the right context).

Any thoughts or feelings about foods mixing and touch them?  Share them here. 

 

2 Responses to “Mixing & Touching”

  1. Melanie Says:

    Being that Thanksgiving is right around the corner, this is a big issue for me. I don’t know how people can pile things up on their plates and have everything altogether. That’s one thing I dread because even if I’m not eating it, my family has no problems doing so and just looking at their plates sometimes makes me cringe.

    Also on another note…Just this weekend, I went to visit my folks up north. My mom forgot about my no touch rule and pour the turkey and gravy (suprizingly with my meat issues lately turkey in small pieces is okay) all over my mashed potoatos!!!! They both then remembered my picky eating habits. Luckily, as a child my mom was a very bland cook and normally makes what I like even now that I’m not there. My father thought it was quite comical (as he always did when I was a kid, it doesn’t bother me, its not in a mean or disrespectful way), and gave me the same old line “its all mixes in your stomach anyway!” I don’t know about you, but personally, I don’t even want to think about it mixing in my stomach! Yuck!

    Mel

  2. Bennie Says:

    Lucky for me I don’t have any problems like this so I can mix everything up and eat it all together


Leave a Reply

