Adult Picky Eaters UK

For Picky-Eating Adults in the UK and worldwide

Infantile Anorexia November 12, 2006

Filed under: General — Claire @ 2:16 pm

I don’t know if this will ring bells for anyone, it does for me – thought I’d post it just in case anyone has any thoughts.  I found this in an article about research on restoring normal growth in infantile feeding disorders:

“Infantile anorexia, unlike so-called “picky eating,” is a subtype of infantile feeding disorder, and is characterized by failure to gain weight or weight loss over at least 1 month, rare interest in food or expression of hunger, an age of onset before the child is 3 years old, and the exclusion of trauma to the oropharyngeal area or other medical conditions.”

Honestly, the waters are so muddy.  That definition fits me perfectly, and it contrasts “infantile anorexia” with “picky eating”, which would imply that they have got a definition of picky eating, which is more than we have managed to find…  That’s another one for me to chase up, I guess.

 

5 Responses to “Infantile Anorexia”

  1. Liza Says:

    Thanks for writing about this issue. I’ve very invested in the issue (mother of an extraordinarily picky eater- at a highly clinical level) and it’s nice to see you dealing with it publicly. Keep up the good work.

    Liza

  2. Claire Says:

    Hi Liza
    I don’t know enough about “infantile anorexia”, or how long the concept has been around, but I can’t understand why I wasn’t diagnosed with it, and I can’t find anything yet on aetiology or prognosis. Would definitely be interested to know more.

  3. Claire Says:

    UPDATE: It appears the concept is a new one in (I think) the DC:0-3R, and dates only from 2005. So that explains that. (Source: Wall St Journal, 2006)

    I also read, in an article about Annie Jones in the Northern Echo, that eating behaviours become “ingrained for life” around the age of 6 years. I’ve yet to follow up this “experts’ claim”, but it would fit with my theory of a critical developmental window being responsible for we adults’ persisting condition.

  4. Louise Hall Says:

    Hi,

    I am examining the issue of infantile anorexia because I am looking at writing a feature on it. I am fascinated by several angles – the idea that a child can be innately anorexic and that eating behaviours become ingrained at the age of six as claimed in the article on little Annie Jones.

    Please email me on: louisehall77@yahoo.co.uk – if you would like to discuss, I would love to hear…

    Thanks.

  5. meetu Says:

    hey
    I’m currently doing my masters in food and nutrition. I would like to do a research on infantile anorexia.I would like to discuss with you on this topic
    Please email me on : meetumathew1001@gmail.com
    Thanks


Leave a Reply

